The Pays d’Aix

The Pays d’Aix has been marked by 4 decisive steps in its evolution:

  • In December 1993, the 6 major communes in the Pays d’Aix decided to join forces and to create the Communauté de Communes du Pays d’Aix (CCPA) in order to offer coherent action in the employment areas of: Aix-en-Provence, Bouc Bel Air, Coudoux, Saint-Cannat,Venelles and Vitrolles.
  • In January 2001, the CCPA changed status and became a Communauté d’Agglomération that now includes a group of 34 communes, covering a surface area of 130,000 hectares with a population of 330,000 inhabitants.
  • In January 2014, the Communauté d’Agglomération du Pays d’Aix included 36 communes with the integration of Gardanne and Gréasque,  144 000 hectares with a population of 400,000 inhabitants.
  • On 1st January 2016, the Communauté du Pays d’Aix entered the metropolis Aix Marseilles Provence.

The metropolis Aix-Marseilles-Provence

The MAPTAM law of January 27th 2014, endorsed the creation of the metropolis Aix-Marseilles-Provence (AMP). The law of August 7th 2015, specifies the regime of the metropolis that became effective on 1 January 2016.

The metropolis Aix-Marseilles-Provence, is a public inter-municipal cooperation establishment (EPCI) which includes 92 municipalities and 1.8 million inhabitants, or 93% of the population of Bouches-du-Rhône and 37% of the PACA region.

It covers an important area, larger than the cities of Lyon and the Grand Paris together.

The skills of the metropolis Aix-Marseilles-Provence

A progressive redistribution

The metropolis Aix-Marseilles-Provence is a public inter-municipal cooperation establishment with its own tax and for which the law defines a core of required skills.

The 92 municipalities of the metropolitan area have all transferred competences to the EPCI which they are members of.

However, given the disparities in the level of integration of 6 EPCI and the scale of the merger, the law will allow two years for the transfer of competences between the municipalities and the metropolis. Thus, until 1st January 2018, the municipalities will continue to exercise jurisdiction in their own area.


For further information: